My First Attempt at Scones

Today, I learned how to cut butter. No, I am not a professional baker. In fact, I have just discovered that I enjoy baking about a year and a half ago. It was much too precise for me when I was a young one. I, however, have come to enjoy the feel of the resistance of cake batter when I hand mix it and how much it reminds me that I don’t have muscles when my arm begins to feel like it is about to fall off. Oh the joys of baking! How I love thee!

But really, sarcasm aside, I decided to experiment today with my newer found love to make a fall take on a scone. Here, I present to you the ingredients for a cranberry orange dark chocolate scone! I cannot take full credit for this recipe, but I did add a few tweaks.

What You Need:

2 cups flour
7 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon grated orange peel
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup cold butter
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup half n half
1/4 cup orange juice
1 large egg
1/3 dark chocolate bar

For The Top
1 tablespoon orange juice
3 teaspoons sugar (optional, because the OJ has enough sugar)

Directions:

Combine flour, sugar, orange peel, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
img_6172

Cut in butter until small clumps form. (I literally thought it would be clumpy like a cookie dough is before you actually mix it well. I was wrong. It is okay for all of the flour to not be absorbed by the butter. I also did not cut with a knife as suggested. I used a whisk. What can I say, I’m a rebel.)

In a smaller bowl (I used a measuring cup), mix the cranberries, dark chocolate, orange juice, half n half, and egg together.

img_6177

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until a dough forms. Then, using your hands, knead dough about 10 times until thoroughly mixed.

From bowl, press scones into long shapes- I called mine scone turds- and place evenly on a greased cookie sheet.

Brush with the extra orange juice, and sprinkle sugar on if you want. I did not, as I feel the orange juice has enough sugar in it.

Bake at 400 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown on top. Transfer to a metal rack, or in my case, a innovative rack made with wooden skewers and an aluminum pan.
They should turn out to look something like this—-

fullsizerender

I hope you have as much luck as I did on your first (or maybe thousandth) attempt at making scones! The only question that remains is- are they for breakfast or are they for dessert? If anyone knows, please do tell. Curious minds do wonder.

 

Original Recipe from Taste of Home! Thanks, dude, for being my inspiration!

 

4 thoughts on “My First Attempt at Scones

Leave a Reply

